Governance - School Council

The St Margaret's School Council provides the school with vision, strategic guidance, resources and finance for operations and development. Most of this work occurs "behind the scenes" through council meetings and council committees. The support and guidance of the Reverend Mother and the Sisters of the Society of the Sacred Advent and their involvement in council and the school's Ethos Committee are invaluable. The substantial, broad-based skills of the School Council provide support and confidence in all decision-making processes. 

St Margaret's School Council  

Ms Alison Quinn - Chair
Ms Annie Dunning - Deputy Chair
Mrs Jodi Phillips
Mrs Deborah Smith
Mr Roger Traves
Mrs Janine Walker
Ms Zoë Connolly

Ms Ros Curtis
Ms Karen Gorrie
Mrs Toni Williams

Ms Alison Quinn BCom, FAIM, FUDIA
Chair of School Council
Chair of Master Planning Reference Group

Alison brings to the Council extensive development and investment experience in the property sector, specifically the residential and commercial fields. She has a background in banking and finance together with significant public sector experience which provides her with a balanced perspective and one which understands risk, governance and corporate responsibility. Alison is the Executive General Manager Retirements for Aveo, the country's largest Retirement Village owner, operator, manager and developer. She is also a proud St Margaret's Old Girl and has a daughter in primary at the school.

Ms Annie Dunning

LLM, BA, GradDip Legal Practice
Deputy Chair of School Council 

Annie brings to the Council extensive Legal Practice experience in the area of information management solutions for large public and private sector organisations. Annie contributes to the wider community and has been the Clayton Utz Foundation Representative and Community Connect Coordinator in the Brisbane office. As a former student of St Margaret's, Annie has retained a strong connection with the school and is deeply committed to the education of its students so that they may achieve their professional and personal aspirations. Annie enjoys travelling, cooking and spending time with her family. 

Mrs Jodi Phillips

BCom, MScience(IT), GradDip Technology Management, GAICD
Director of School Council 
Member of Risk Committee 

Jodi is a current parent, mother to Faith in the Primary School.  She is also an Associate Director at Information Technology Services Division, University of Queensland, where she is responsible for the management of a variety of technology portfolios, including eLearning.  She has been involved in the management of technology resources for over 20 years, with 17 years of military service as an Officer in the Australian Army and several years working in the Middle East on technology security related projects.

Mrs Deborah Smith

Director of School Council 
Debbie Smith is the Managing Partner, Brisbane at PwC. In this role Debbie is responsible for engaging more than 600 staff and setting the strategic direction of the Brisbane office. Debbie is a senior Partner within the PwC Assurance practice and leads some of PwC's largest audit engagements. She is the newly appointed audit partner for Rio Tinto globally. Debbie has also led PwC's Technical Accounting and Brisbane Assurance practices in her more the 20 years with the Firm. Debbie is a board member of the Breast Cancer Network of Australia. She is married with two children and has an interest in travel, food, interior design and fashion.

Mr Roger Traves QC
BA, LLB(Hons), LLM

Roger is Queen’s Counsel and has a broad-based practice centred on commercial law but with extensive experience in a range of other areas. They include administrative and public law, local government and planning law, valuation law and compulsory acquisition of land, professional liability, equity and trusts and succession.Roger regularly acts as mediator in a wide range of disputes.He has acted as Counsel assisting in a number of Commissions of Inquiry and for persons of interest and witnesses therein.

Mrs Janine Walker
BEdu, GradDip Business
Director of School Council 

Janine Walker is the Director of Human Resources at Griffith University and an Adjunct Professor in the Griffith Business School. Janine brings to the St Margaret's Council her expertise in industrial relations, politics, the media and public organisations.Janine is experienced in the governance of private schools and has a deep interest in the future of girls' schools.


Ms Zoë Connolly ('83)

Zoë is a St Margaret’s Old Girl ('83) who went on to study a Bachelor of Arts (English Literature, World Religions, History) and of Laws at The University of Queensland.  Admitted as a Solicitor, she worked in the law until 2000 when she took time out of employment to travel with her family and raise her three children. In 2010 she returned to work in the not for profit sector – including at the Brisbane Writers Festival and the Great Barrier Reef Foundation. She currently works at Queensland Ballet in their highly successful development team as their Philanthropy Manager, and brings a wealth of experience in this field to assist the school in building its future.  Zoë retains a deep connection with the school and has a personal passion to help prepare our graduates to bring intelligence, judgement, integrity and wisdom to the complex world of challenges they will face in their future.


The Society of the Sacred Advent Schools Pty Ltd is the Trustee of separate Trusts established for both St Margaret's and St Aidan's Anglican Girls Schools. The members of the board of directors of the Trustee are: the Archbishop of the Anglican Diocese of Brisbane (or his nominee); the Reverend Mother of The Society of the Sacred Advent; a person nominated by The Society of the Sacred Advent; the Chair of St Aidan's School Council Ltd; and the Chair of St Margaret's School Council Ltd.

The Trustee owns the assets and operations of the respective  schools and is the employer of all staff. St Margaret's School Council Ltd (ABN 69 069 684 019), a public company limited by guarantee, has been appointed as the Trustee's agent to operate St Margaret's Anglican Girls School under a Management Services Agreement. The Council is also governed by its Constitution, takes guidance and direction from the Philosophy and Mission Statement of the Society of the Sacred Advent, and is regulated by Australian corporate law.

The Trustee and Council appoint the Principal. The Trustee, Council and Principal appoint the Chaplain. The Principal, as CEO, is responsible for all other staff appointments, for operating the school within the Trustee and Council approved policies and budget, and for assisting in the development of, and monitoring, strategic goals.

The school is affiliated with the Anglican Schools Commission of the Diocese of Brisbane for collegial support with other Anglican schools in the region, and for collective bargaining with its employees.

The Society of the Sacred Advent School Pty Ltd ACN 104 269 785
St Margaret's Anglican Girls School ABN 93 492 310 839
St Margaret’s School Council Ltd ABN: 69069684019 CRICOS Code: 00511K
A School of the Society of the Sacred Advent