Reflections from St Margaret's high achieving graduates of 2021

After a COVID-induced delay, St Margaret’s was excited to finally be able to celebrate the success of our top ATAR performing students from the Class of 2021 at our annual Scholars’ Assembly, held on Tuesday 19 April.

During the assembly, each of the 54 Scholars who achieved an ATAR of 90 or above were honoured with an award.

Deputy Principal Karen Gorrie said, “Their example of scholarship is there for us to copy and to inherit.”

In the lead up to the assembly, each scholar was asked to share their reflections and advice to inspire our current students, which is published in a booklet and available to current students in hard copy form or via The POD.

Ms Gorrie encouraged students to read it saying, “I believe if you are prepared to follow the advice from our graduating class, you too will end up at this assembly in future years.”

She concluded with these words: “To all our scholars, congratulations on reaching your goal and thank you all for being great academic role models to all the students around you. We wish you the best for your studies and endeavours. May you experience joy and happiness, fulfill your dreams and may you continue to be inspired by the school’s motto, Per Volar Sunata – Born to Fly Upwards.”

The QCE Subject Prizes were also presented during the assembly to those students who achieved the highest overall subject result. The subject prize award recipients are listed below:

QCE Subject Prize

Award Recipient


Edwina McLachlan

Ancient History

Ashleigh Witenden


Olivia Donoghue


Zara Campbell

Ella Woods


Sunny Zhang


Gio Kim

Digital Solutions

Isabel Crockett


Estella Caro


Queena Jiang


Edwina McLachlan


Paige Bastian

Zara Campbell

English and Literature Extension

Estella Caro


Estella Caro

General Mathematics

Ryanne Coe

Amelia McDonald


Chloe Fenwicke

Legal Studies

Eliza Quayle


Estella Caro

Mathematical Methods

Georgie Gaspar

Modern History

Eliza Quayle


Ashleigh Witenden

Music Extension

Ashleigh Witenden


Zara Campbell

Samantha Cooper

Celia Quinn

Physical Education

Hayley Forster

Specialist Mathematics

Zara Campbell

Visual Art

Grace Nankivell

Georgie Gaspar was announced as the QCE Proxime Accessit Dux of the School while Zara Campbell received the QCE Dux of the School Award and the ATAR Dux Award.

Zara Campbell and Samantha Cooper each shared their wisdom and advice on what helped them to achieve great academic success with current students. Zara encouraged younger secondary students to home in on the study techniques and methods that work best for them, while suggesting to those in Years 11 and 12 to find a study buddy studying similar subjects and with similar academic goals. Samantha promoted maintaining balance and fully embracing the extracurricular opportunities at school to support a study/life balance.

Our Scholars have each embarked on their post school journey pursing a range of tertiary studies from law through to science. More than 20 of our Scholars are studying STEM-related fields including medicine, physiotherapy, biomedical science, engineering, design, nursing or agricultural science.

Congratulations to our inspirational 2021 Scholars. May you have continued success as you move into this next chapter of your lives.